Shadow in the Glass (A Greer Hogan Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

Shadow in the Glass (A Greer Hogan Mystery #2) By M. E. Hilliard Cover Image
$26.99
Backordered

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Greer Hogan Mystery series.

Description


Murder rocks a wedding celebration at an idyllic lakeside home—and librarian-turned-sleuth Greer Hogan could be next on the killer’s guest list in this second exciting installment, perfect for fans of Louise Penny.

Librarian Greer Hogan is on hand to celebrate her old friend Sarah Whitaker’s nuptials at the Whitaker summer home on beautiful Mirror Lake, just outside the upstate New York village of Lake Placid. But Greer has an ulterior motive—to gather information that could reopen the investigation into her husband’s murder, a crime for which she believes an innocent man went to prison. Her plans come to a shuddering halt when a wedding guest goes missing and turns up dead in the lake. The guest, Brittany Miles, was an employee of the Whitaker family whom Sarah had long suspected was up to no good at work.
 
The police have no leads, but Greer—an avid reader of crime fiction who possesses an uncanny knack for deduction—begins her own investigation. She learns that the victim was seen with a mystery man right before she disappeared. Then the autopsy reveals that she didn’t drown in the lake after all, but in the reflecting pool in the Whitaker garden.
 
The suspect list is as long as the guest list itself, with no apparent motive. Now, Greer must rely on the wisdom of her favorite fictional detectives to tease out truth from lies—and keep herself out of the killer’s sights.

About the Author


M. E. Hilliard is currently a full-time librarian who started out in retail merchandising. After twelve years of mergers, consolidations, and moves around the country, she went to graduate school and got a Master of Library Science degree. Originally from the Connecticut shoreline, she has never lost her love of quaint small towns, big cities, and fashion, so she indulges that in her writing. A life-long lover of mystery fiction, M. E. currently lives and works in Florida.

Praise For…


Praise for Shadow in the Glass:
“Easy to like and very smart.”
Seattle Book Review

“For cozy aficionados, this read is sure to please.”
New York Journal of Books

“A full on 'whodunnit' mystery laced with suspense, memorable characters . . . [and] unexpected plot twists and turns that makes for a compulsive page turning and fun read.”
Midwest Book Review

“Hilliard does a bang-up job creating a chilling gothic atmosphere.”
Midwest Book Review

Praise for The Unkindness of Ravens:
“Hilliard’s crime fiction debut is a smash . . . Thrilling, fast-paced, quick-witted, and full of nostalgic references to Greer’s beloved literary detectives, The Unkindness of Ravens will please fans of Christie’s Poirot and Marple, Louise Penny’s Armand Gamache, and, especially, Sherlock Holmes.”
Booklist, starred review

"[A] first-rate debut and series launch."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Plenty of red herrings and a nice setup for a sequel.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Atmospheric...Readers who remember those classic girl detective mysteries . . . will appreciate this book."
 —Library Journal

“M.E. Hilliard pulls off a delightful high-wire act in The Unkindness of Ravens . . . Readers who enjoy Louise Penny’s Three Pines will enjoy protagonist Greer Hogan."
—Gwen Florio, award-winning author of the Lola Wicks series

“[An] appealing main character and enjoyable plot.”
—Dorothy Cannell, award-winning author of the Ellie Haskell series

"Moody and tense, literary and urbane, and an edgy delight to read."  
BookPage

“A terrifically entertaining and deftly crafted read from cover to cover.”
Midwest Book Review

“An intriguing murder mystery packed with plenty of red herrings and loads of fun references to crime fiction from the golden age.”
City Book Review

"A chilling atmosphere . . . The book is well-plotted as the body count rises. It's well-written . . . with a bit of an edge."
—Suanne Schafer's Bookshelf


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643858944
ISBN-10: 1643858947
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 5th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Greer Hogan Mystery